Introduction

After many years of anxiety, depression and general emotional distress, things finally came to a head when I was made redundant. I found myself in a frightening place, unable to move forward. Several months into this difficult period, it was like part of my mind became unblocked. Suddenly my mind was filled with creative visions of my experience which demanded to be expressed in physical form. I started first with pencil sketches and then moved on to acrylic paintings.

My pictures seek

  • to express the experiences that I am having.
  • to explore topics which are on my mind.
  • to externalise the difficult feelings that I am experiencing instead in internalising them.
  • to provide self nurturing and reminders of positive messages to myself.
  • to communicate to others, an example of what experiencing mental health issues is like.
  • to inspire others to use art forms to explore and express difficult thoughts and feelings.

To date, I have taken no courses in drawing or painting. My pictures seek to express a thought as best I can; accurate depictions of physical objects is not a priority in my work.

Some of the pictures reflect difficult themes, including self-harm and suicidal thoughts. Some of the pictures may be upsetting or triggering to some people.

I’ll post the pictures created over the past few months chronologically first, and then add new pictures as they are created.

© northernrose17 and A Therapeutic Art Journey, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to northernrose17 and A Therapeutic Art Journey with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave a Reply

