It’s A Secret

It’s a Secret was created following a conversation at a drop-in. Someone directly asked another person what their mental health issue was, which isn’t generally a done thing among service users. The person asked shared their story and I was surprised to hear more commonalities with my issues than I expected. They also said that previously they wouldn’t have felt comfortable sharing the details with people. That got me thinking that actually, I am not comfortable in sharing my symptoms with other people. The word “secret” could be exchanged with “private”. The reality is that people can appear fine, but actually, they are experiencing difficult symptoms. I experience anxiety, fear and shame when I think of sharing this picture, but I want to share it because it raises important questions and awareness of mental health issues.

© northernrose17 and A Therapeutic Art Journey, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to northernrose17 and A Therapeutic Art Journey with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

