Client-Therapist Communication

Sometimes, therapists do something outside of the therapeutic conversation which invokes difficult and confusing feelings for the client. I have again found myself grappling with this issue and I feel rather angry about it. Why did this extra issue have to be dumped on me?  I find it really difficult to say to my therapist when these issues arise. I know she would want me to tell her but it’s difficult when you feel fear and shame in response to the issue. The intention of this cartoon was to express some of the experiences I’ve had in therapy; I wanted it to be sarcastic, a way of expressing the anger that I feel, and also to acknowledge that I am grappling with this issue in an adult way. I’ve lived a very isolated life previously and through the therapeutic relationship, I am gradually learning how to get along with another person, how to tolerate differing opinions and how to work through frustrations through communication, rather than continue to isolate myself instead. Therapists are not perfect; they are people dealing with their own issues, and in some cases, people yet to get to grips with keeping their private lives private online.

© northernrose17 and A Therapeutic Art Journey, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to northernrose17 and A Therapeutic Art Journey with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

