Learning to Draw Properly

As mentioned recently, I have been working through the book Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Betty Edwards. I have learned about negative space, basic unit, sighting and perspective. I have found drawing using these techniques difficult as I quickly get very frustrated. I have completed some pictures which are copies of existing pictures, which I have drawn by hand using just single hairlines to assist, and have decided to share these. They are focused on shapes and proportions.

This one was from a knitting magazine.

IMG_0855_small

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following two are from a Noddy annual from 1980 (Original image copyright Purnell and Sons Limited).

This one took me a couple of hours to complete.  I got fed up towards the end so the back of the bonnet could have been better but I am generally quite pleased with it.

IMG_0857_small

This one took an hour and a half. It was supposed to be the same size as the original as I got frustrated trying to make it proportionally bigger. Again, quite pleased with it 🙂

IMG_0853_small

2 comments

Leave a Reply

