Textile Art week 2 – More fun with angelina fibre

For the second week of the course we were shown some techniques for creating fabric with the angelina fibres.

The first technique was layering. We put down some of the angelina fibre onto a baking sheet, then placed other materials on top, and finally another layer of angelina and then fused it together with an iron. I used sequins, a feather and dried hydrangea petals. Others in the group tried punched paper, wool and embroidery threads and small pieces of fabric. Here is what I ended up with:

IMG_1256_small IMG_1259_small

The second technique was embossing. We simply put the angelina fibres over an embossing stamp, put the baking sheet on top and ironed. I wasn’t so impressed with this technique because it was difficult to see the embossed image clearly. A simple stamp on coloured fibres worked better. He’s what I ended up with:

IMG_1260_small

The third technique was stamping. I first made a stamp of a star shape. To make the stamp, a jam jar lid was provided.  It had been sanded down to aid adhesion. I cut out a shape in thin foam, used pva glue to attach it, and then used a heat gun to dry it quickly.

IMG_1264_small

Then to stamp, I inked my home made stamp in blue ink, then put some of the angelina fibre on top, put the baking sheet on top and ironed it. I’m not keen on the colours I chose. What some of the group used which worked really well was gold ink on white angelina fibre.

IMG_1254_small

Leave a Reply

