Blackwork Embroidered Butterfly

I recently visited a large Knit and Stitch show where I saw examples of blackwork embroidery. The idea is that you sew your image in one colour, normally black thread on a white background. I felt inspired to try this style of embroidery and used a pattern to create this butterfly.

IMG_1373_small

The pattern for the butterfly can be found here.

I chose to add a bit of colour to this example as I’m not keen on black and white art.

Whilst creating this piece, I realized that this style of embroidery could be used to implement Zentangle like designs in thread and fabric instead of ink and paper. To demonstrate what I mean, here is an example sampler:

blackwork_sampler

Image source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/40391727883718005/

I would like to try creating my own blackwork embroidery design.

 

Leave a Reply

