Problem Coffee

problem-coffee_small

Over the past three months I’ve had problems with a gentleman (I’ve named him “problem chap”) after accepting his friend request on Facebook. We met some time ago at a support group. Every message he’s sent me has been inadvertently triggering. He didn’t do anything bad as such. However it caused me to project my parents onto him in a big way. It has left me feeling unable to tolerate being in the same room as him (because I feel very threatened) and needing extra support at the support group. The idea of going for a coffee with him in order to learn that actually he’s not the monster I’m projecting on to him came to me. I decided to depict this in a painting to engage with the difficult feelings and see what came up, and hence we have “Problem Coffee”! Being willing to go for coffee with problem chap in the real world remains a long way off.

© northernrose17 and A Therapeutic Art Journey, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to northernrose17 and A Therapeutic Art Journey with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

